Can you smell botulism?

According to the USDA, botulism in food may cause container lids to bulge & cause foods to have a bad odor. Botulism has also been associated with foods that smell & taste normal. Smell and taste of food should not be used to determine if it is contaminated. Never taste food to determine its safety.