What is a animal sanctuary?

An animal sanctuary is a place where animals are taken care of. It’s kind of like an animal shelter. The difference between an animal shelter and sanctuary is that sanctuary’s can keep any animal. For example: one animal sanctuary keeps lions and tigers.