Where do butterflies go for the winter?

Most butterflies that live in cold climates spend the winter as caterpillars, while almost as many spend the winter as pupas. A few species, mainly tortoiseshells and anglewings, spend the winter as adults, hibernating in holes in trees, in crevices in man-made structures, or in other shelters.