What's the smallest animal ever?

The smallest vertebrate (animal with a backbone) is Paedophryne amauensis. The body length of an average adult is reported at less than 8 mm, about the size of a pea. The smallest invertebrate is the rotifer, or wheel animal, which can be as small as 50 microns, which is the equivalent of 0.05mm.