Why did steve perry quit journey?

The first time, in the '80s, Perry's exit was voluntary as the result of recent solo success and growing indifference toward the band. In 1998, Steve Perry left Journey for a second time, due to a hiking accident and his refusal to undergo the hip surgery necessary to get him back onstage.