What is fallout nuclear?

Nuclear fallout is the residual radioactive material propelled into the upper atmosphere following a nuclear blast, so called because it falls out of the sky after the explosion and the shock wave have passed. It commonly refers to the radioactive dust and ash created when a nuclear weapon explodes.