Why is the toilet called the john?

The term is thought to derive from Sir John Harrington or, at the least, to have been popularized due to Harrington. Although Harrington wasn’t by any means the first to invent a flushing toilet, it is believed the actual flushing toilet device itself was first installed in his home, hence the name.