What makes rice yellow?

Yellow rice is a traditional yellow-colored rice dish in Spanish, Morocco,, Peruvian, Caribbean, Filipino, Afghan, Indian, Sri Lankan, South African and Indonesian cuisines. It is made using white rice made yellow with annatto, saffron or turmeric, ingredients used to give the rice its yellow color