What's the difference between parsley and cilantro?

The best way to tell the two apart is by smelling them. Parsley has a fresh, mild herbal scent, while cilantro has a much stronger, spicy, citrusy aroma. Some people describe the smell and taste of fresh cilantro leaves as soap-like.