What color are your toenails?

Healthy fingernails and toenails should generally be a pink color - with the healthy nail plate being pink, and the nail being white in color as it grows off the nail bed. Fingernail color and condition changes are rarely the first clue of serious illness.

---

Typically, toenails should be more or less a clear, partially translucent color. But sometimes, they can appear yellow, green, blue, purple, or black. Several things can cause toenail discoloration (also known as chromonychia).