What is k. n. o. three?

Potassium nitrate is a chemical compound with the chemical formula KNO ₃. It is an ionic salt of potassium ions K⁺ and nitrate ions NO₃⁻, and is therefore an alkali metal nitrate. It occurs in nature as a mineral, niter. It is a source of nitrogen, and nitrogen was named after niter.