How do you survive quicksand?

Make yourself as light as possible, toss your bag, jacket, and shoes. Try to take a few steps backwards. Keep your arms up and out of the quicksand. Try to reach for a branch or person's hand to pull yourself out. Take deep breaths. Move slowly and deliberately out.