What do praying mantises do in the winter?

Adult praying mantis put the egg case on a branch of a bush or a tree. The eggs survive through the winter in the egg case and then hatch when the weather gets warm in the spring. Many praying mantises die in the winter, but the eggs make it through and create all new praying mantises each year.