What is brown vinegar?

Brown Vinegar is made by malting barley causing the starch in the grain to turn to maltose. Ale is then brewed from the maltose and allowed to turn into vinegar, which is then aged. It is typically distinctive dark brown color. As its name implies, malt vinegar has a distinctive malt flavor.