What makes people fart?

Farting is a normal part of digestion that reflects the activity of the bacteria in your gut. When you eat certain foods that are difficult to digest, such as beans or raw vegetables, you will fart more often. Excessive farting, called flatulence, can be a sign of a health problem.

---

Flatulence and flatus are medical terms for what is commonly known as farting. ... Gases produced during the digestive process cause flatulence. ... It can also contain small amounts of other gases, such as hydrogen sulfide, which make farts smell bad.