What was roman polanski accused of?

In 1977, Roman Polanski, aged 43, sexually assaulted Samantha Jane Gailey (now Geimer), aged 13. A grand jury brought five charges against Polanski: 1. Rape by use of drugs 2. Perversion 3. Sodomy 4. Lewd and lascivious act upon a child under fourteen 5. Furnishing a controlled substance to a minor.