What is a vampire's weakness?

Vampires are supposedly subject to being driven away by the shape of a cross, or repelled by garlic and even killed by being stricken by a silver dagger or bullet. Other methods of doing away with them include exposing them to sunlight or driving a wooden stake through their heart.