Did the s. s. normandy sink?

At the start of World War II, U.S. authorities seized the Normandie while docked in New York. Renamed USS Lafayette, the ship caught fire and capsized in 1942 as it was being refitted as a troopship. Deemed too costly to repair, the U.S. Navy ultimately scrapped the Normandie in 1946.