What's the purpose of a dewclaw?

When a dog’s lead leg is on the ground during the gallop, the dewclaw is on the ground to stabilize the carpus. As a dog turns, the dewclaw digs into the ground to support the limb and prevent torque. Some dogs also use their dewclaws to help them climb trees, or hold items as they chew.