What's a marine corps?

Patterned after the Vikings of old, on November 10th 1775, the Second Continental Congress meeting in Philadelphia passed a resolution stating that "two Battalions of Marines be raised" for service as landing forces with the fleet. This marked the birth date of the United States Marine Corps.