Can i substitute butter for vegetable oil in a cake recipe?

You can absolutely substitute butter for the vegetable oil. Use the same quantity specified in the directions (for example, if it calls for 1 third cup of oil, use 5 and 1 third tablespoons of butter). Melt it down, then let it cool a bit. You might not ever go back to oil!