When did the twenty first century begin?

The Beginning of the 21st Century was the year 2000.

---

The twenty-first century began in January 2001 and will end at the end of 2100.

---

The twenty-first century began on January 1, 2001. Because there was no Year Zero, the first century A.D. ended on December 31 of the year 100 A.D., so the second century began the following day, January 1, 101 A.D. The same logic applies to decades, centuries, and millennia.

---

The 21st century is the current century of the Anno Domini era or the Common Era, in accordance with the Gregorian calendar. It began on January 1, 2001, and will end on December 31, 2100.

---

The twenty-first century began on January 1, 2001.