What year did newport cigarettes come out?

Newport is America's top selling menthol cigarette brand and the second largest selling cigarette brand in the U.S. Launched in 1957, the brand is named after a Rhode Island seaport and today the iconic spinnaker brand mark remains a symbol of its early sailing heritage.