Who owns the falkland islands?

The United Kingdom claims sovereignty of the Falkland Islands and has done so since 1833. Argentina, who exercised sovereignty briefly before that also claims sovereignty. The majority of current inhabitants wish to remain UK citizens, a right enshrined in law after the brief Falklands War of 1982