How do you trim a green bean?

Just snap off the stem end. For more mature beans, snap off the stem end & remove the string with a vegetable peeler if necessary (often the string will come off as you snap the ends). If you prefer, line up all the beans with the stem ends in one direction and cut them all off at once.