How many amps does it take to charge an electric car?

As far as amperage, your electric car will require a minimum of 15 amps to start charging. If you go this route, it will take several days to reach the desired 80% charge. Generally, fast charging stations use about 500 amps and can charge your electric car in less than an hour.