When was the electric cardiogram invented?

In 1887, Augustus Waller invented one of the first electrocardiogram machines that allowed a heartbeat to be recorded in real time

---

The first electrocardiogram (ECG) from the intact human heart was recorded with a mercury capillary electrometer by Augustus Waller in May 1887 at St. Mary's Hospital, London.