Where did the number nine one one come from?

In 1968, AT&T chose 9-1-1 because it was brief and easy to remember and can be dialed quickly. It was also a number that had never been authorized as an office code, area code, or service code. Thus it best met the long range numbering plans and switching configurations of the telephone industry.