What happened to julie andrews voice?

In 1997, Julie Andrews underwent surgery to remove noncancerous nodules on her vocal chords. When she awoke, the angelic soprano singing voice that delighted audiences in The Sound of Music, Mary Poppins and Victor Victoria was gone.