Do elves come on thanksgiving?

No.

---

Many do. Elves on the shelf typically arrive between Nov 24 & Dec 1st. Many arrive in time for Thanksgiving, & keep watch over children until Christmas Eve. They fly North every night to report to Santa about how naughty or nice the kids have been, then return to a new spot in the house each day.