How many characters are in the japanese language?

Japanese is composed of a few alphabets: kanji, hiragana, and katakana. Kanji originated from traditional Chinese and contains well over 50,000 characters. Modern Japanese alphabets, which include hiragana and katakana, each contain 46 basic characters which represent sounds.