What's a lightning tornado?

All thunderstorms have the potential to produce tornadoes, but not all do. A lightning tornado is a meteorological event in which a tornado and a thunderstorm occur simultaneously. It's characterized by a high number of cloud-to-ground lightning strikes in close proximity to the tornado.