What was the attack on september eleventh?

Commonly known as 9/11, was a series of four coordinated suicide terrorist attacks carried out by the Islamic extremist network Al-Quaeda against the United States. Date: September 11, 2001 at 7:46AM CDT Number or Deaths: 2,996 Location: World Trade Center, the Pentagon in Manhattan and Flight 93