What nationality is gru from despicable me?

He speaks in an unusual accent (probably east European) which, according to Steve Carell (who voiced Gru), was described as "a mix of Ricardo Montalban and Bela Lugosi". When asked about his accent by Ellen DeGeneres he said he was from Albuquerque, New Mexico.