Who wrote humpty dumpty?

Nobody knows exactly who or what Humpty Dumpty was. The rhyme was first printed in 1810 and became famous through Lewis Caroll's book, 'Alice Through the Looking Glass', where Humpty Dumpty is shown as a round egg.