What is a wendigo?

The wendigo or windigo is a mythological man-eating creature or evil spirit from the folklore of the Native American Algonquian tribes. With its bones pushing out against its skin, its complexion the ash gray of death, Wendigo looked like a gaunt skeleton recently disinterred from the grave.