What is raining dogs?

The idiom "raining cats and dogs" just means that it is raining very hard. “Cats and dogs” may be a perversion of the now obsolete word catadupe. In old English, catadupe meant a cataract or waterfall. It may also come from the Greek expression cata doxa, which means “contrary to experience.”