Where does the name frisbee come from?

A frisbee (pronounced FRIZ-bee, origin of the term dates to 1957. In June 1957, Wham-O co-founders Richard Knerr and Arthur "Spud" Melin gave the disc the brand name "Frisbee" after learning that college students were calling the Pluto Platter by that term