Why did the ussr fail?

The Soviet Union failed due to a combination of economic difficulties, complications in its attempt to invade Afghanistan, dissent from younger generations within both it and the allied Warsaw Pact nations and, ironically, Mikhail Gorbachev's attempts to liberalise and improve quality of life.