Do cactuses need to be watered?

As a general rule, add water when the top half-inch of soil feels dry. When watering, moisten the soil thoroughly, allowing it to soak up the water, and if it does so quickly, add more water until it comes out the drainage holes. Most cacti need to be watered once a week