Why are there thirteen eggs in a bakers dozen?

The tradition of adding extra bread to a purchase came from the middle ages, when bakers were afraid of being penalized for selling short weights. So 13 loaves would be given rather than 12 when a dozen were purchased. The number 13 became known as a baker’s dozen, even for 13 eggs.