What is a tea girl?

A tea girl (lady) provides drinks in an office, factory, hospital, or other place of work. The job began in Britain during World War II, and continues in the National Health Service today. It used to be a wide-spread occupation for women. Tea girls are also responsible for kitchen upkeep.