What is fat freezing?

Cryolipolysis, or fat freezing, is a method to remove body fat by the controlled application of cooling (-11 to +5 °C) to subcutaneous fat. This kills the exposed tissue without apparent damage to the overlying skin. Adverse effects include transient local redness, bruising and numbness.