Why is corn beef so red?

Corned beef is treated with nitrates or nitrites (chemicals used to preserve the meat and prevent dangerous botulism organisms from growing) as part of the preservation process of the beef. These chemicals cause the beef to take on a pink color, regardless of how long it is cooked.