What's a hansel?

Hansel definition An Anglicised spelling of the German given name Hänsel. English equivalent: Johnny. pronoun. A fictional character in the German fairy tale Hansel and Gretel, originally Hänsel und Gretel as adapted by Giambattista Basile and more recently the brothers Grimm. pronoun.