How do you craft a diamond armor?

In the crafting menu, you should see a crafting area that is made up of a 3x3 crafting grid. To make a diamond chestplate, place 8 diamonds in the 3x3 crafting grid. When making a diamond chestplate, it is important that the diamonds are placed in the exact pattern as the image below.