Why are flowers yellow?

Plant pigments such as xanthophylls and carotenoids are poor at absorbing yellows, oranges and reds so that the most common wavelength they reflect, and we see, is yellow. Hence, many plants have yellow petals because xanhophylls and carotenoids are produced in high concentrations in petals.