Is there a word called oman?

Oman is both a country and a family surname. The Oman family name was found in the USA, the UK, Canada, and Scotland between 1840 and 1920. The most Oman families were found in USA in 1920. In 1840 there were 9 Oman families living in Ohio. This was about 36% of all the recorded Oman's in USA.