What is the legend of dumbo?

Dumbo was a circus elephant with unusually large ears gaving him the nickname Dumbo. When Dumbo's ears caused an accident injuring many other elephants, he was made to dress like a clown to perform dangerous stunts. After finding out his ears allowed him to fly, he became a circus hit.