Who is the first man to appear on the cover of vogue?

Actor, Richard Gere, was the first man to appear on the cover of Vogue magazine, in the November 1992 edition, alongside then-wife Cindy Crawford. Only 9 men have appeared on the cover, always alongside a woman or two.